Seattle Down

This June I made my way over to the Pacific North-West to see a dear friend of mine who had to move away from London last year.

I had THE BEST TIME so here’s a series of photos of me enthusiastically pointing at cool stuff, in an homage to another friend, the now world-famous (or at least in Canada) James O’Malley, who pointed at all the Canadian things.

I didn’t want to do a video, so you’ll have to make do with this! I’ll write some stuff at the end for those who are interested but first, pictures…


Downtown and Fremont:

pikeplace

PIKE PLACE MARKET!

starbucksoriginal

ORIGINAL STARBUCKS!

hydrant

U.S. FIRE HYDRANT!

FremontTroll

FREMONT TROLL!

SUSHI

SUSHI!

Mt. Rainier National Park:

alderdam

ALDER DAM!

rainierriverbed

MOUNTAIN!rainierlogbridge

NISQUALLY RIVER!

NaradaRainier

NARADA FALLS!

rainiersnow

PARADISE, MT. RAINIER! SNOW!

Whale-watching on the Victoria Clipper up to Friday Harbour & around the San Juan islands:

MtBaker

MT. BAKER!

whales

ORCAS!

seastar

SEA STAR!

clipper

VICTORIA CLIPPER III!

Washington Park Arboretum:

tree

SITTING IN A TREE!

Sequoia

SEQUOIA!

crabs

CRABS!

Space Needle and Chihuly Glass Exhibition & Garden:

SpaceNeedle

SPACE NEEDLE!

downtownNeedle

DOWNTOWN!

Chihuly1

CHIHULY GLASS!

doublepointchihulyneedle

REFLECTING!

chihuly2

MORE CHIHULY GLASS!

dockkayak
KAYAKING (OUTSIDE FRIEND’S HOUSEBOAT)!

Chittenden Locks:

salmon1

SALMON LADDER!

Seattle Pride Parade and Festival:

pridemiddlepoints

SAD CHRISTIAN PROTESTERS!

Takei1

GEORGE TAKEI AND HUSBAND BRAD!!

Takei2

GEORGE. FRICKING. TAKEI!!!

GimpsandPups

SEATTLE PUPS & HANDLERS!

BalloonOctopus

GIANT BALLOON OCTOPUS!

AFK Tavern, Everett:

AFK

SUPER-GEEKY COCKTAIL MENU!

Cushions

SEATTLE/LONDON HOUSEBOAT CUSHIONS!

Snoqualmie Falls Park, diner and historic town:

Snoqualmie LOVELY (Twin Peaks!) WATERFALL!

chowder

CHOWDER!!


Many more photos (that don’t feature me pointing at stuff…) in my album, plus separate ones for more Pride, and Chihuly. I’ve storified some tweets, too.

I won’t say much more here other than that it was wonderful to meet all the friendly people; eat all the delicious fishes (UK sushi now ruined); sail; kayak (quite a big deal for me as I can’t swim – yet); listen to great tunes; chill out with my book; spot lots of wildlife and see so much beautiful scenery.

Thank you, Seattle!

4 thoughts on “Seattle Down

    1. Funny, that’s what my dating profile says too 😛
      The beard has received some twitter acknowledgement, indeed! Great to meet you too, what a fantastically fun day. I shall try to get myself to a parade as many years as possible from now on!

  1. Pingback: QEDcon 2014 | Purely a figment of your imagination

  2. Pingback: Pool: a love letter | Purely a figment of your imagination

Leave a comment